Time to build wheels?

January 15, 2008 at 3:43 pm 1 comment

I went for a night ride last night with some of the wheelers and met a guy who built his own wheels, took ~five hours he said and he also worked at a bike shop so I am sure he had experience with truing and was very familiar with the ins and outs of the whole thing. This morning I open up the email and from Peter White’s “Bicycle Lifestyle” google group I find the post I am listing here:

Piaw’s Blog: The Bicycle Wheel

There are a couple of videos, and information from googlers teaching googlers on how to build your own wheels- so do I take the plunge is the question. My only hold up is the investment, this is truly a worthy skill to have but the local bike shop (LBS) and inner nets can sure take care of me. The first video makes a good point about problems on the road and having the skill to deal with it, but I usually don’t go very far and to be beyond cell phone operation is even more rare.

Then there is Peter White who personally guarantees his work, and build price is very reasonable at $35 a wheel with 24-36 spokes. I will mentally bounce this around for a while, do some calculations and think about it some more.

Blogged with Flock

Tags:

Entry filed under: bike, How to.

Bike update, new frame fork and drive train. Indiana Almost Legislated Pi; 111 years ago

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Piaw Na  |  January 15, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    I like Peter White, but he doesn’t for instance build with 15 gauge wheelsmith spokes, which I like to use for high spoke count wheels. If he’s local, sure, there’s no reason to get him to build the wheel for you, but if he’s not, or you’re picky about wheels (i.e., what the right parts are), then I building own is the way to go. Watch the first part of the first video for more details.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages


